Skip redundant pieces

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Trio of EECS Freshmen Earn Summerfield, Watkins-Berger Scholarships

Published on October 16th, 2009 by Michelle Ward

Three EECS freshmen have received prestigious Summerfield and Watkins-Berger scholarships. Michael Albert (CoE) and Cameron Atwill (CS) were recipients of Summerfield scholarships while Alexa Clements (EE) was honored with a Watkins-Berger scholarship. The awards provide $4,500 per year for four years to each student.

The scholarships, funded through KU Endowment, are awarded to top students graduating from Kansas high schools in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements and records of community service and leadership.

The Summerfield scholarship, KU’s first merit scholarship, was established in 1929 by alumnus Solon Summerfield with a gift to KU Endowment. He supported the scholarship program throughout his lifetime and, in his will, provided for its continuation through gifts from the Summerfield Foundation.

The Watkins-Berger scholarships for women were created through gifts to KU Endowment from the estate of philanthropist Elizabeth Miller Watkins and from alumnus Arthur Berger.

Albert, Atwill and Clements are from Natoma, Salina and Lawrence, respectively.