Skip redundant pieces

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

EECS Students, Faculty Honored during Engineering Recognition Ceremony

Published on June 1st, 2006 by David Hageman

Three EECS students, Fabrice Baijot-CoE, Shannon Skoglund-CS, and TszPing "Charley" Chan-EE were honored as outstanding graduating senior in their respective discipline during The University of Kansas School of Engineering Recognition Ceremony held at the Lied Center for the Performing Arts on Sunday, May 21, 2006. Among all outstanding graduating seniors in the School of Engineering, Shannon Skoglund, a senior in computer science from Olathe, Kansas, was also selected to receive the Sammie and Carl Locke Award for Outstanding Graduating Senior in the School of Engineering in 2006.

Shannon Sanderson Skoglund, a National Merit Scholar, graduated from Olathe South High School in 2001. While at KU, she served as vice-president for the Society of Women Engineers, rowed for the KU Crew team for four years, and spent a semester studying in Costa Rica. She is a member of Tau Beta Pi and Upsilon Pi Epsilon, and she was one of 69 Tau Beta Pi Scholars in the United States for the 2005-2006 academic year. Shannon graduated with Highest Distinction with degrees in both Computer Science and Spanish. After graduation, she will begin work at Perceptive Software, Inc. in Shawnee, Kansas. She intends to return to KU for graduate studies in the future.

During the ceremony, Professor Man C. Kong, associate professor of EECS, was awarded the 2006 John E. Sharp and Winifred E. Sharp Teaching Professorship based on his demonstrated innovations to the curriculum, innovations in course delivery, and outstanding classroom teaching evaluations. Professor Kong had previously earned two teaching awards, the EECS department’s Harry Talley Excellence in Teaching Award in 2001 and the university’s Excellence in Teaching Award from the Center for Teaching Excellence in 2004.

For more information on the 2006 School of Engineering Recognition Ceremony, see